Ears to Hear

“I am begging for attention
I am jealous
God is begging me to look at Him
and turn away from earthly things”

I lift my eyes up to the heavens
And ask God if He is there, if he is listening
And yet I do not act like I can hear
His reply, His call, His pleading me to listen

I want His attention, I want Him to look at me
I want Him to fill me with His presence
But I refuse to ask
“Where are you already?”

Where can I flee from His presence?
Behold, He is there at all times.
I should not ask Him to be with me
I should ask Him to open my eyes and ears

Why do I ask for God to be here with me
When I should be asking to be there with Him?
Why do I think He is not with me
When I am not listening to Him?

Open my eyes, Lord
Open my ears, Lord
Open my heart, Lord
Open my mind, Lord

Open me, Father.

Leave a Reply

