The Blue Sky Tag

blue sky plane writers blogging bloggers novels

Kat tagged me in the Blue Sky Tag, and I’m not one to turn down a friend’s challenge, so here goes! Ten questions about me.

1. If you didn’t have to sleep, what would you do with the extra time?

WRITE. CLEAN. BATHE. EXERCISE. LEARN EVERYTHING AND ANYTHING. But also, probably sleep anyway.

2. What’s your favorite genre of books or movies?

I really enjoy magical realism, a world where impossible things happen that are completely unexplained. Kafka’s The Metamorphosis, for instance, is a perfect example: why did he become an insect? Or in Aimee Bender’s Willful Creatures, reviewed here, why are the boy’s fingers keys? We’re never told. We just have to accept them as reality and move on.

Getting a bit deeper, I think I enjoy magical realism because of my mental illness. I can’t stop it or change it, I just have to learn to deal with it. And it’s the same in literature as well: characters are forced to deal with something they’re given/cursed with for no reason, and now they must learn how to make do. That’s magical realism.

3. What are you looking forward to most in the next ten years?

I can’t even imagine next month, let alone ten years from now. But I guess, things settling down. Having a home I can call home. Doing something I love for a living. You know, the basic necessities.

4. What is something you will NEVER do again?

I have done plenty of things I would never do again, to the point where I can’t even remember them and would probably do them again on accident. A couple months ago, I stepped on my own toe and still have a bruised toenail. Maybe in a year it’ll be back to normal.

5. What dumb accomplishment are you most proud of?

I’m most proud of that one time I sneezed while holding a cup of hot cocoa…and didn’t spill it. That took serious skill.

6. If your childhood had a smell, what would it be?

A stale cheese-fueled stench that you cannot cure with any amount of Febrese.

7. Among your friends and family, what are you famous for?

I’m famous for being the writer. Also the weird one. Also the klutz. Also the gigantic ranter. And finally, the obsessively culturally-minded one.

8. When people come to you for help, what to they usually want help with?

They usually want some deep advice. I tend to be a very good listener, letting people talk without interruption for extended periods of time. I’m pretty sure after I listen enough, I can come to a conclusion of what they could do, provide a couple options, listen to them talk through each one, and after they pick one, get told that I give excellent advice. What do you know.

9. What’s your favorite drink?

I really enjoy a good Earl Grey with some creamer in the mornings. OR some cold raspberry tea. OR a good pink moscato. (I’m bad with choosing favorites.)

10. What fictional place would you most like to visit?

I’d really like to visit the VFD from A Series of Unfortunate Events, or maybe sit in the background of Elizabeth Bennet’s drama, whispering gossip to my friends. But in all seriousness, nowadays is my favorite time to be, if only for the strides we’ve made in fighting racism (though we’re not perfect yet!). Why would I want to live in a society where good friends would be slaves, or not able to vote, or ostracized, or given less pay?

…*picks a fictional place far, far into the future*


Alright! That was my attempt at the Blue Sky Tag 🙂 I tag Hazel G. Evans and Tyler B. Humphries! Here are your questions:

  1. Describe your life story in forty words exactly.
  2. What is your favorite dessert, and why?
  3. How did you come to be a writer?
  4. What made you pick your genre to write in? (Or, in Tyler’s case, what genre to publish?)
  5. What is your favorite aspect of the writing community?
  6. How magical was your experience with your first burrito?
  7. Tell me all about your love for–or hate of–a warm gooey brownie.
  8. How did you learn from your worst mistake?
  9. Cat person, or dog person? Or bird/lizard/snake person?
  10. What has being in your family taught you about writing?

Let me know what you think of these questions…I’m not too great at writing them. But have fun!

One thought on “The Blue Sky Tag

Leave a Reply

